Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Niehaus Announces Application Process for 26th District Seat

(Columbus) - Ohio Senate President Tom Niehaus (R-New Richmond) announced today the process to fill a pending vacancy in Ohio's 26th District Senate seat.

The Senate Republican Caucus will accept applications through close of business on Friday, July 1. Applications should be sent or hand-delivered to the following address:

Senate President Thomas E. Niehaus
The Ohio Statehouse
1 Capitol Square, Room 201
Columbus, OH 43215

Please send an identical copy of the application to the Senate chief of staff:

Matt Schuler, Chief of Staff
The Ohio Statehouse
1 Capitol Square, Room 205
Columbus, OH 43215

Senator Niehaus also announced that the following Senators will serve on a screening committee which will interview the applicants and make a recommendation to the entire 23-member Senate Republican caucus:

* Senator Tom Niehaus, President (R-New Richmond)
* Senator Keith Faber, President Pro Tempore (R-Celina)
* Senator Shannon Jones, Majority Whip (R-Springboro)
* Senator Chris Widener (R-Springfield)
* Senator Kevin Bacon (R-Minerva Park)
* Senator Cliff Hite (R-Findlay)
* Senator Peggy Lehner (R-Kettering)

Incumbent Senator Karen Gillmor (R-Tiffin) has indicated she plans to resign from the 26th District seat, pending Senate approval of her appointment by Gov. John Kasich to the Ohio Industrial Commission.