Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Jean Schmidt Earns Spirit of Enterprise Award

Don't know why we didn't hear about this til now, but here goes. Jean Schmidt was among those honored by the US Chamber of Commerce, earning their Spirit of Enterprise Award. From the article here:
This annual award goes to lawmakers who support pro-business policies at least 70% of the time during most recent congressional session. The Chamber's prestigious "Spirit of Enterprise" award is given annually to members of Congress based on rankings it gives for key business votes outlined in its yearly publication, How They Voted. This is the twenty-second year that the U.S. Chamber has formally honored the accomplishments of this select group of members of Congress.

The Chamber's designated "key votes" are recorded floor votes on issues established as priorities by the Chamber, on which the Chamber informs Congress of its position on prior to the vote. Senators and House members who support the Chamber's position on at least 70% of these key votes receive the "Spirit of Enterprise" award.

During the second session of the 111th Congress, the Chamber key-voted 11 Senate and 9 House votes, including passage of an a tax cut extension, health care reform, financial services legislation, campaign finance reform, and legislation to improve science and math. This is the 23rd year of the Chamber giving the award.

Congratulations to my Congresswoman, Jean Schmidt of the 2nd Congressional District!

Others from Ohio honored of note include: Rep. Michael R. Turner (OH-3)
Rep. James D. Jordan (OH-4)
Rep. Robert E. Latta (OH-5)
Rep. Steve Austria (OH-7)
Rep. John A. Boehner (OH-8)
Rep. Patrick J. Tiberi (OH-12)