Friday, March 30, 2012

Speaker Batchelder Outlines Process for House Appointments

COLUMBUS—Today, Speaker of the Ohio House William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) today outlined the process for filling the current and pending vacancies in Ohio House Districts 41, 85, 87 and 98.

House Districts 41 & 85

41st District State Representative Lynn Slaby (R-Copley) is expected to be appointed to the Public Utilities Commission of Ohio on Wednesday, April 11th. His resignation will be effective on April 10th.

Recently, former State Representative Bob Peterson (R-Sabina) of the 85th House District was sworn in as the state senator in Senate District 17.

Residents of House Districts 41 and 85 who wish to be considered for the appointments may send their submissions to Speaker Batchelder at 77 South High Street, 14th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215 or by email at by Friday, April 13th at 5 p.m. The new members of the 41st and 85th Districts will be sworn in on or after April 18.

Speaker Batchelder stressed that he and his leadership team will be working very closely with elected officials and county Republican parties in the districts and look forward to their recommendations. As a result of those conversations, a screening panel will likely convene to recommend appointees to the seats to the members of the House Republican Caucus.

“Although it is the prerogative of the House Republican Caucus to make an appointment, I believe it is incumbent upon us to give the citizens of these districts as much of a voice as possible in selecting their new member,” Speaker Batchelder said. “I look forward to working with their elected and party leadership in the coming days.”

House Districts 87 and 98

On Tuesday, the elections in the 87th and 98th House District were officially certified and the House Republican Caucus will appoint the winners of the primaries in those areas, as previously indicated. Former Bainbridge Township Trustee Matt Lynch will be sworn in as state representative of the 98th District and, pending a recount, Gallipolis School Board President Ryan Smith will be sworn in as state representative of the 87th House District.

Both Lynch and Smith are slated to be appointed during the next scheduled session of the Ohio House of Representatives on Wednesday, April 18 at 1:30 p.m.