Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Ohio Receives Federal Disaster Declaration for June Storms

COLUMBUS – Local governments in 37 Ohio counties are now eligible for federal funds to help pay for damage repair and extra costs they incurred as a result of the June 29 severe storms that caused massive power outages across much of Ohio. The federal funds have been made available as a result of President Barack Obama granting Gov. John R. Kasich’s request for a federal disaster declaration.

The counties eligible for funds are Adams, Allen, Athens, Auglaize, Belmont, Champaign, Clark, Coshocton, Fairfield, Franklin, Gallia, Guernsey, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Highland, Hocking, Jackson, Knox, Lawrence, Licking, Logan, Meigs, Miami, Monroe, Morgan, Morrow, Muskingum, Noble, Paulding, Perry, Pickaway, Pike, Putnam, Shelby, Van Wert, and Washington.

The funds will be provided through FEMA’s Public Assistance Program, which repays local governments for eligible storm-related response efforts including debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities. Estimates developed jointly by FEMA, state and local officials found more than $29.5 million in damages and costs to public property and infrastructure.

“I appreciate the President’s favorable response to my request to make these funds available to local governments. In many communities the response efforts were intense and damage to public buildings was costly and these funds will provide needed relief,” said Kasich.

Ohio EMA will disburse the federal funds upon receipt and processing of all required documentation. Representatives from Ohio EMA and FEMA will meet with local officials to further explain the public assistance application process.