Friday, January 04, 2013

Incoming Senate President Announces New Committee Structure

COLUMBUS – Ohio Senate President-Elect Keith Faber (R-Celina) announced today the restructuring of the Senate’s standing committees in order to more closely align them with the legislative priorities being formulated for the new General Assembly.

Because the state budget will be the primary legislative priority for the first six months of the new term, Faber also announced the creation of three sub-committees of the Finance Committee to more effectively address complex issues such as education and Medicaid. Senators not serving on the Finance committee will have an opportunity to participate in a Finance sub-committee.

“My goal with these changes is to maximize the incredible talent and skills we have in our members on both sides of the aisle,” Faber said. “With the state budget being such an important priority this year, the new Finance sub-committees will allow all of our members a place at the table to discuss and build consensus on the critical issues facing our state.”

Below is a listing of the new standing committees and three sub-committees for the 130th General Assembly.

Energy & Natural Resources*
Public Utilities*
Workforce & Economic Development*
Local Government, Public Safety & Veterans Affairs*
State Government Oversight & Reform*
Criminal Justice*
Civil Justice*
Commerce & Labor*
Ways & Means
Medicaid & Human Services*
Insurance & Financial Institutions*

Finance Sub-Committees*:

General Government

*New or restructured committee

About Senate Committees: Senate committees are a critical part of the legislative process and function as the second consideration required of a bill before it can become law. Following a bill’s introduction, it is assigned to one of the Senate’s standing committees. During committee meetings, bills are debated and amended, and members of the general public are given the opportunity to contribute testimonies. Weekly committee schedules are posted on the Ohio Senate’s website, in the Senate Clerk’s office and in the hall outside the Senate Chamber. For more information, visit