Friday, January 11, 2013

Speaker Batchelder Announces House Committees, Chairmen

OLUMBUS—Speaker of the Ohio House William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) today announced the Ohio House of Representatives’ new committee structure, which places emphasis on the House’s legislative priorities for the 130th General Assembly.

“The restructured committees will focus our efforts on the legislative priorities of the House over the next two years,” said Speaker Batchelder. “Issues such as economic development and the budget will continue to be a major part of our work here in the House, but we will also be tackling many other important issues as well. I’m confident that the chairs and vice chairs will lead their committees proficiently and guide the passage of legislation that will benefit all Ohioans.”

The House committees, as well as the members who will lead each committee, are as follows:

Agriculture and Natural Resources
Chair: Rep. Dave Hall (R-Millersburg)
Vice chair: Rep. Andy Thompson (R-Marietta)
Commerce, Labor and Technology
Chair: Rep. Ron Young (R-Leroy Township)
Vice chair: Rep. Mike Duffey (R-Worthington)
Economic Development and Regulatory Reform
Chair: Rep. Nan Baker (R-Westlake)
Vice chair: Rep. Lou Terhar (R-Cincinnati)
Chair: Rep. Jerry Stebelton (R-Lancaster)
Vice chair: Rep. Andrew Brenner (R-Powell)
Finance and Appropriations 1
Chair: Rep. Ron Amstutz (R-Wooster)
Vice chair: Rep. Jeff McClain (R-Upper Sandusky)
Financial Institutions, Housing and Urban Development
Chair: Rep. Richard Adams (R-Troy)
Vice chair: Rep. Jay Hottinger (R-Newark)
Health and Aging
Chair: Rep. Lynn Wachtmann (R-Napoleon)
Vice chair: Rep. Anne Gonzales (R-Westerville)
Chair: Rep. Bob Hackett (R-London)
Vice chair: Rep. Mike Henne (R-Clayton)
Judiciary 2
Chair: Rep. Jim Butler (R-Oakwood)
Vice chair: Rep. Dorothy Pelanda (R-Marysville)
Manufacturing and Workforce Development
Chair: Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton)
Vice chair: Rep. Mark Romanchuk (R-Ontario)
Military and Veterans Affairs
Chair: Rep. Terry Johnson (R-McDermott)
Vice chair: Rep. Al Landis (R-Dover)
Policy and Legislative Oversight
Chair: Rep. Mike Dovilla (R-Berea)
Vice chair: Rep. Jim Buchy (R-Greenville)
Public Utilities
Chair: Rep. Peter Stautberg (R-Anderson Township)
Vice chair: Rep. Kristina Daley Roegner (R-Hudson)
Rules and Reference
Chair: Rep. Matt Huffman (R-Lima)
Vice chair: Speaker Batchelder
State and Local Government 3
Chair: Rep. Terry Blair (R-Washington Township)
Vice chair: Rep. Marlene Anielski (R-Independence)
Transportation, Public Safety and Homeland Security
Chair: Rep. Rex Damschroder (R-Fremont)
Vice chair: Rep. Margaret Ann Ruhl (R-Mount Vernon)
Ways and Means
Chair: Rep. Peter Beck (R-Mason)
Vice chair: Rep. Terry Boose (R-Norwalk)

1 House Finance and Appropriations subcommittees:

Agriculture and Development (Chair: Rep. Tim Derickson, R-Hanover Township)
Higher Education (Chair: Rep. Cliff Rosenberger, R-Clarksville)
Primary and Secondary Education (Chair: Rep. Bill Hayes, R-Harrison Township)
Transportation (Chair: Rep. Ross McGregor, R-Springfield)
Health and Human Services (Chair: Rep. Anne Gonzales, R-Westerville)

2 The restructured House Judiciary Committee is a combination of the Judiciary Committee and the Criminal Justice Committee of the 129th General Assembly.

3 House State and Local Government subcommittee:

Shared Services and Government Efficiency (Chair: Rep. Ron Maag, R-Lebanon)

Speaker Batchelder expects to announce the membership of all committees next week.