Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Speaker Batchelder Announces Select Committee, Process for Hearing Election Contest

COLUMBUS— Pursuant to Article 2, Section 21 of the Ohio Constitution, Speaker William G. Batchelder (R-Medina) today announced that a House Select Committee has been established to hear the election contest O’Farrell v. Landis in the 98th House District, which was recently delivered to the House from the Ohio Supreme Court.

“We will have a full, fair and deliberative process over the next several weeks on this election contest,” Speaker Batchelder said. “I am confident that the select committee will do their due diligence over the coming weeks in order to make a recommendation to the full House.”

Speaker Batchelder named the following House Members to serve on this select committee:

· Rep. Matt Huffman – Chair

· Rep. Peter Stautberg – Vice chair

· Rep. Mike Dovilla

· Rep. Dorothy Pelanda

· Rep. Gerald Stebelton

· Rep. Kathleen Clyde – Ranking Member

· Rep. Mike Curtin

· Rep. Chris Redfern

· Rep. Fred Strahorn

The first of several hearings are expected to begin in the month of March. A hearing schedule and location of these public hearings will be made available in the near future. This committee is not a standing House Committee; as such, members serving in leadership positions will not receive any additional stipend for their service.

The last election contest occurred in the 1980s in the Ohio Senate and in the late 19th century in the Ohio House. The committee membership will be journalized this week and the committee will be dissolved pending their final recommendation to the full House.